FIFA Unveils 6 Countries To Co-Host The 2030 World Cup

Image Source: Nomi2626 / Shutterstock

The hosts for the 2030 FIFA World Cup have been revealed, with the tournament set to be spread across North Africa, Europe, and South America.

Morocco, Spain, and Portugal will be the main hosts, while Uruguay, Argentina, and Paraguay will host the first three games to commemorate the competition’s 100th anniversary.

This will be the first World Cup held across three continents, and all six countries mentioned will automatically qualify.

Uruguay hosted the very first World Cup in 1930 and emerged as the champions by defeating Argentina in the final. Paraguay is involved due to its headquarters being the location of the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL), which was the only confederation in existence during the first tournament.

FIFA president Gianni Infantino has confirmed that the opening game will be played at Uruguay’s Estadio Centenario, which was built specifically for the 1930 tournament and also hosted the final. However, the Opening Ceremony will still be held in either Morocco, Spain, or Portugal.

2026 had Canada, Mexico, and the United States as co-hosts, making it the only other World Cup to involve more than two host nations. The 2030 World Cup will be the first to have six host nations.

Most Popular

To Top